Sakura of the day: Weeping cherry and Someiyoshino in Kichijo-ji, Hon-komagome

Yesterday, while walking around Komagome in Tokyo, I was thinking of visiting Rikugi-en, a famous garden for its huge weeping cherry. I used to live around there and felt a kind of nostalgic. But it was so crowded, so I changed my mind. Instead, I visited the temple nearby called “Kichijo-ji” which was really calm. It’s fun to find some quiet places like this where only locals visit.

P1040752

P1040753

P1040757

By the way, Komagome is worth visiting for those who love sakura. Someiyoshino, the most representative sakura tree,  originallly comes from this place – In the past, the place around Komagome was called “Somei village” where many gardeners lived.

There is such a cute mailbox in front of North Exit, JR Komagome Station.

P1040768

4 thoughts on “Sakura of the day: Weeping cherry and Someiyoshino in Kichijo-ji, Hon-komagome”

  1. Haha that mailbox!! I’m back in Japan now, and I love how everything is sakura-themed now. I even saw a pink sakura can of beer yesterday!

Leave a Reply

