Miso soup of the day: Baby scallops & Chinese yam

I knew the taste of baby scallops when I was living in Aomori, the northern part of the mainland Japan, which is famous for scallop aquaculture. Baby scallops are culled just now – in early spring. I’d never had miso soup with baby scallops in my hometown but it was quite popular in Aomori.

Last week, I luckly found baby scallops in the supermarket near my house, so I made miso soup using them and Chinese yam which was also produced in Aomori.

First, clean the scallops well and boil them in water with diced Chinese yam. Skim the scum. Add some miso paste and that’s it. Baby scallops make good stock, so it’s quite simple but tasty!

Leave a Reply

