Night walk in Asakusa & traditional dessert place

Asakusa is no doubt one of the most touristic places in Tokyo. After dark, it gets less busy and you can enjoy a pleasant walk around Sensoji-temple.Kaminari-mon (雷門). 
Nakamise shopping street. 

Five-storied pagoda.

Nio statue. img_3267-2

Hozo-mon (宝蔵門).

The main building.

Tokyo Sky Tree on the right side.


Umezono (梅園)”, located just off of the Nakamise street, is a highy recommendable place to enjoy traditional Japanese desserts, which has a history of over 160 years.

Their specialty “Awa-zenzai (あわぜんざい, steamed sticky millet with sweet bean paste, 777 JPY-)” is a suitable treat after a long walk on cold days. It’s served with pickled perilla seeds.

How to order is a bit different from general coffee shops. After you walk in the shop, you buy a ticket at the counter then have a seat at a table. A waitress will come to pick up this ticket and serve green tea.

7 thoughts on “Night walk in Asakusa & traditional dessert place”

  1. Neat! I’ve never heard of awa zenzai before! I didn’t know that millet could be used that way. Do you know if you have to use a special kind of millet? I tried cooking millet in the rice cooker once, and it came out really dry and crumbly. I absolutely love zenzai though, so I would love to try this out!!

    1. Hi, Elle 🙂 “Awa” literally means “foxtail millet” but acutally Umezono uses “kibi (common millet)”. Like rice, both awa and kibi have two kinds: non-glutinous (uruchi) and sticky (mochi). Mochi type is used for zenzai, and either “mochi-awa (餅粟 in Kanji, もちあわ in Hiragana)”or “mochi-kibi (餅黍 in Kanji, もちきび in Hiragana)” is suitable. I’ve never tried rice cooker to cook millets alone… hmm… why it came dry and crumbly… A popular way is to boil in a pod without a lid (stir sometimes while boiling), turn off the heat and put a lid on to let it steam for a while after being cooked (wash and soak in water well in advance). They can be steamed or microwaved too. Hope it helps…;)

      1. Amazing, thank you so much! That answers all of my questions perfectly. I’ve always been interested in millet since I was a little kid and heard about Momotaro and his kibidango haha.
        After reading your explanation, I realize that I must have cooked uruchi-kibi. Maybe if I go to a Japanese grocery store (I’m in Vancouver now) I’ll be able to find mochi-kibi or mochi-awa. I had no idea that there was a glutinous type of millet. I’m absolutely going to go hunting for it tomorrow. Thanks 😀

      2. Oh, you’re no longer in Japan… coming back again soon?
        Me too, I was interested in kibidango when I was a kid.Maybe I should make it by myself 😀

      3. Yeah, if one bento of kibidango is enough to give strength to a boy, a dog, a pheasant, and a monkey, I thought they must be a very amazing food! 😀
        I came back to Vancouver a few days ago because I have work to finish here, but I plan to return to Japan soon. I miss it so, so much!!
        I will continue to blog about Japan, though, because I still have a lot of photos to post haha

Leave a Reply

