Miso soup of the day: nanakusa (7 herbs)

Today is January 7th and it’s a day to eat nanakusa-gayu (rice porridge with 7 herbs) to let our stomaches relax after eating and drinking too much during new year’s holidays.

Talking about myself, I just came back from my husband’s parents’ home last night. It was quite a busy trip and I had been missing my own miso soup! So using the ingredients of nanakusa-gayu, I made miso soup of 7 herbs.

Just cut water dropwort, shepherd’s purse, cudweed, chickweed, nipplewort, turnip and radish, cook them in broth and add miso paste.

4 thoughts on “Miso soup of the day: nanakusa (7 herbs)”

  1. Hi Kazue,

    Thanks for posting this recipe! I’ve never heard of more than half of those ingredients, but it looks so good I think I should start getting more familiar with them.

    1. You’re welcome, Dillon! 🙂 Actually, most of these herbs are weeds and they used to be found anywhere. Now they are sold at supermarkets but only before and on Jan. 7 here.

Leave a Reply

