Hittsumi: Warm Local Dish of South Aomori & Iwate

My husband dined out last night, so I went to my parents’ place and cooked Hittsumi with my mom. This is a local dish in the sourthern part of Aomori and Iwate, the Tohoku region (northern part of mainland Japan). It’s one of my favorite recipes I learned when I lived in Aomori. I often helped local farmers and I often had Hittsumi with them after working on the farm – it tasted so special!

Ingredients:

200-300g chicken thigh, 1/2 burdock root, 1/2 carrot, 3 shiitake mushrooms, 2 eddoes, 7-8cm daikon radish, cake flour or all-purpose flour, water, 3 tbsp soy sauce, 1/2 cup sake, 2tbsp mirin (adjust the amount of ingredients as you like)

Method:

  1. Make dough. Mix flour and water and knead it till become hardness of an earlobe. Leave the dough for about 0.5-1 hour.
  2. Cut chicken thigh and eddoes in dices and slice other vegetables.
  3. Cook water, chicken and vegetables in a pot. Add sake, mirin and soy sauce.
  4. Pull and tear the dough (“Hittsumi” comes from their dialect “Hittsumu” meaning pull and tear) and make flat oval pieces to add in the pod. Cook until the dough get soft enough.


Leave a Reply

