Satsumaimo Gohan: Japanese Sweet Potato Rice

Autumn, a time of harvest, is the best season to enjoy ‘takikomi gohan’ (seasoned rice with vegetables / fish / meat). This sweet potato rice is one of the simplest takikomi gohan that is easy to cook and tastes comforting.

When I was small, adults told me that sweet potato rice (but not like this, I imagine) was something people had to eat during the war. I always remember their story when I cook it to realize how blessed we are today.

 

Simply add 2 rice measuring cups (300g) of japonica rice, 5 cm of dried kelp, diced sweet potato, 2 tbsp of soy sauce, 1 tbsp of sake and water. Then cook the same as plain rice. Sprinkle sesame seeds and salt before serving.

6 thoughts on “Satsumaimo Gohan: Japanese Sweet Potato Rice”

  1. I love imo-gohan! I do this exact same thing, except I’ve never added sake before. I will try that next time! I’ve also heard of people eating imo-gohan during the war. I imagine that they didn’t put sake and kombu in it, but do you think anything else was different about the way they cooked it back then?

    1. Well, I heard that the amount of rice was extremely small compared with sweet potatoes. So it was almost sweet potatoes. Also the quality of sweet potatoes was quite poor…

      1. Ahhh…makes sense. There must have been very little rice in it. And the quality of rice would’ve been different, too. I’ve heard also about mugi-meshi and daikon-meshi, and one of my mother’s friends told me about how she used to have rice with kibi.

      2. Ah, I see what you mean…these dishes are associated with kurushimi for some people, but health and happiness for others. I can understand what you mean by mixed feelings.

Leave a Reply

